HONOR by J. L. Drake is Out and Available! With Lita T’s & Bettina A’s reviews included. @jodildrake_j @EJBookPromos #LitaT’sReview #BettinaA’sReview

Title: Honor
Series: Blackstone Series #1
Author: JL Drake
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: January 16, 2017
Publisher: Limitless Publishing


Bullets fly during a dangerous mission, and Major Mark Lopez is critically injured… 

A Blackstone soldier, Mark is transferred to the North Dakota hospital with the security clearance to treat members of the elite covert team. The pretty new nurse assigned to his case knows her stuff, but Mark soon discovers she knows more than just how to save lives. Mia Harper knows the Blackstone Code. 

Mia is a bit of gypsy and doesn’t engage much with people—but there’s something about her mysterious new patient… 

After Mark recovers from surgery, he is discharged from the hospital with orders to rest. Not that he does. Instead he rushes to México for the team’s next assignment. But when he returns to the hospital again and again with minor—and not so minor—injuries, Mia suspects he’s only coming to see her. Romance ignites, and because Mia signed a non-disclosure agreement at the hospital, Mark is able to open up more with Mia than any other woman. 

Some debts demand payment in either cash or blood… 

When someone from Mark’s past comes to him for help, old secrets start to resurface, and more blood is shed. Worlds collide and lies are exposed in an all-or-nothing underground poker game. 

Mark must put his life on the line to keep Mia safe…and to finally learn the answer to the question that’s haunted him his whole life. 

What really happened that night twenty-five years ago?

review Enticing Journey 7.18.17
Lita T’s Review: 4.5 Stars
Honor (Blackstone, #1) by J. L. Drake is a spinoff of the Broken Trilogy; that is where we first meet Mark Lopez. Honor is his story. We knew a little about him from the previous story. The most we know was he was Cole’s best friend. He is tall good looking, funny guy and a card shark. He has a never ending stomach and a good soldier. In Honor we learn so much more about who Mark Lopez really is. We also learn how he comes to think of Abigail as his mother and how Cole is more than a best friend but like a brother. This was a story that had me laughing one minute and crying the next. A very emotional story at times. I truly love it and could not get enough of Mark. In each and every book he has been in I have loved him. He is a character I cannot or will not forget. For all endured he finally finds his happily ever after even after a blast from his past threatens to destroy it. Mia is a nurse who meets Mark after a mission where he is hurt. She takes a liking to him but she has issues of his own. Not only do we learn more about Mark but we get to see more of the players from the previous books. It was nice catching up with the others but Mark is my favorite. I voluntarily read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book and I give this book 4.5 stars.
Bettina’s Review:  4 stars 
I truly enjoyed Mark and Mia’s story. Mark who is part of a team, Blackstone, who’s lives are constantly on the line. Always the funny guy in the group and never the one to get serious with anyone. Then meets Mia, a nurse at the hospital that the Blackstone men uses. Instant attraction to each other, Mia and Mark always seems to be drawn to each other. Mia who is always at the hospital working hard to take care of her patients. Emotionally attached to one you can’t help to wonder what is it about this patient. Why does she react the way she does with him? As the connection Mia and Mark has grows as they spend more time together the past seems to want to come in between them. What is it about Mia that caught Mark’s attention? What is Mia hiding from everyone? Most importantly, can Mark and Mia survive once the truth comes out?
I would highly recommend this book to others. I was drawn in by the characters. I got upset when they did something wrong and felt all giddy inside when I saw some happiness. You can’t help but to root for Mark and hope that he gets his hea. I am looking forward to reading more books by this author.


5 stars: “Great series so far – definitely does not disappoint! I can’t wait until the next book! Highly recommend this series and this author!” – K. Thomas

5 stars: “This continuation of the Blackstone “family”. This has turned out to be one of the most entertaining and enjoyable series I’ve read in a while. Well worth reading!” – Kindle Customer

5 stars: “Loved this story. Loved the interaction between the brothers and feeling like you are routing for the love they are in desperate need of.” – Andrea Selner

Bestselling author J. L. Drake was born and raised in Nova Scotia, Canada, later moving to Southern California where she lives with her husband and two children. 

When she’s not writing, she loves to spend time with her family, travelling or just enjoying a night at home. One thing you might notice in her books is her love for the four seasons. Growing up on the east coast of Canada the change in the seasons is in her blood and is often mentioned in her writing. 
An avid reader of James Patterson, J.L. Drake has often found herself inspired by his many stories of mystery and intrigue. 

She hopes you will enjoy her stories as much as she has enjoyed writing them.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.